Inspiring Exploration. Recognizing Achievement.

Women Rock Science is a women-led fundraising event that aims to celebrate women in STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics) and ignite curiosity in children. Proceeds from the event will help bring more STEAM programming, delivered by Cranbrook Institute of Science educators, to PreK-12 students in underserved communities throughout Michigan, including Detroit, Pontiac, Flint, Southfield, and others.

The 4th annual Women Rock Science gala will be held virtually on Thursday, October 7, 2021 at 7:00pm.

Last year, the Women Rock Science virtual gala raised more than $250,000 toward STEAM education!

Women Rock Science Honorees

Every year, the Women Rock Science gala includes an opportunity to recognize three individuals who are making a difference in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics through an Outstanding Educator, Outstanding Leader, and Rock Star Award.

For 2021, the following individuals will be recognized at Women Rock Science:

2021 Honorees
Outstanding Leader Award
Mary T. Barra
Chair and CEO, General Motors
Mary Barra
Outstanding Educator Award
Tuyen Duddles
7th & 8th Grades Science Teacher
Warren Consolidated Schools - Middle School Math Science Technology Center
Rock Star Award
Celeste T. Williams, MD, MS, FACC
Medical Director, Cardiac Transplantation
Director of Quality, Heart and Vascular Institute Henry Ford Health System


To become a sponsor and learn more about the sponsorship levels and benefits, click below.

Become a Sponsor or Purchase Tickets

View PDF of the Women Rock Science Sponsorship Package

Sponsorship Package

All donations are 100% tax-deductible as allowed by law.

Sponsors and Hosts

dte foundation 2
Ally Financial
Ilitch Family NEW Logo
Adele and Mike Acheson
Leo Burnett
Ally Financial
Henry Ford
Roz and Scott Jacobson
Priority Waste
Kim and Mark Reuss
Media Sponsor
Hour Detroit Logo
Pamela Applebaum and Gaal Karp, Barbara Askar Kouza and Christopher Kouza, Terry Barclay/Inforum, Adam and Sue Cheslin, Francoise Colpron-Schwyn and James Schwyn, dentsu, Emily Ford and Henry Ford, III, Amy and Todd Francis, Jennifer and Dan Gilbert, Linda and Roderick Gillum, Karyn Lyon Glover and Donald Glover, Shelley and William Goldsmith, Jennifer and Chris Granger, Sylvia and Edward Hagenlocker, Danialle and Peter Karmanos , Beth and Dick Lilley, MNP Corporation, Lisa Payne, Reising Ethington PC, Aimeclaire Roche and Nathan Costa, Tracy and Bernardo Rojas, Ruby + Associates Structural Engineers, Laurie Sall, Sandy Smith and Robert Wilson, Mike and Theresa Stafford, Jodi and Justin Trivax, Yesenia and Jesse Venegas, Deborah Wahl, Elizabeth Larson Willoughby and Michael Willoughby, Estella Woo

Event Leadership

2021 Co-Chairs: Adele Acheson, Kelle Ilitch, Kim Reuss, and Linzie Venegas

Host Committee
Pamela Applebaum, Terry Barclay/Inforum, Terri Chapman, Sue Guise Cheslin, Francoise Colpron-Schwyn, Emily Ford, Amy Francis, Jennifer Gilbert, Linda Gillum, Karyn Lyon Glover, Shelley Goldsmith, Jennifer Granger, Sylvia Hagenlocker, Roz Jacobson, Danialle Karmanos, Barbara Askar Kouza, Beth and Dick Lilley, Barbara Yolles Ludwig, Kathie Patterson, Lisa Payne, Aimeclaire Roche, Tracy Rojas, Tricia Ruby, Laurie Sall, Sandy Smith, Mike and Theresa Stafford, Pauline Stamper, Jodi Trivax, Yesenia Venegas, Deborah Wahl, Elizabeth Larson Willoughby, Estella Woo

If you were not able to join us for the 2020 gala, we invite you to watch the following video, highlighting the impact these outreach programs have on students and educators:

To watch the full, 45-minute Women Rock Science video, please visit our YouTube page.

For more information on how you can support the Institute’s Service to Others initiatives please contact Katja Thomakos, CFRE, Director of Development at or 248.645.3220.